The Scones that launched 1000 spin-offs…

November 2, 2009


2 C unbleached, all-purpose flour

2T sugar

1T baking powder

1/2 t salt

6T cold, unsalted butter

1 egg, beaten

1/3 C cream + milk to equal 1/2 C total liquid

1 slightly beaten egg

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut in butter until mixture is like course crumbs. Add egg and cream/milk mixture and stir until dough just comes together. Knead gently 12-15 times. Divide dough in half and flatten each half into a 6″ circle. Brush with slightly beaten egg, then cut 6 wedges from each circle. Bake on a parchment lined baking sheet at 425 for 12 minutes. Serve with freshly whipped cream and raspberry jam.

I am not sure where my mom got this recipe but it started my and my sister’s obsession with scones. While the obsession is due in large part to the goodness of the scones, it also likely stems from the fact that these were a late night treat my parents would make when we were young, after we went to bed, for themselves. We would wake up in the morning, spy them on the counter and always complain that they always made them one again without us. Then we would inhale what was left, confirming their wisdom in excluding us by doing so. 

Fast forward years into the future. My experience with commercial scones has been less than savory (excuse the pun). The dry, tasteless creations that look good but leave one wanting do not fuel the fire that once was. One day a woman at work brings in tray of cinnamon chip scones from a local coffee shop and waxes eloquent about how good they are. Synically I try one. They are fabulous. I patronize the shop. A Lot. Then I move away. In a fit of homesickness and sadness that I once again inhabit a world of bad scones I take a stab at making them. I use the recipe above and add cinnamon chips. Voila! My breakfasts are never the same again. Scones are quick, forgiving to the less than perfect baker, and tolerate just about anything you want to mix in. What’s not to love? I make them a couple mornings a week to accompany my morning coffee. Coffee isn’t half as grand without a scone in hand.

Leave a Reply

